November 2023

8 Fantasy Novels Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses" that Will Leave You Spellbound

— Get lost in the enchanting worlds of faeries, magic, and romance with these 8 fantasy novels like "A Court of Thorns and Roses" that are sure to captivate you!
8 Fantasy Novels Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses" that Will Leave You Spellbound
All-new Kindle Paperwhite with 3 months free Kindle Unlimited

Sarah J. Maas' "A Court of Thorns and Roses" is a wildly popular young adult fantasy novel that has captured the hearts of readers around the world. The novel follows Feyre, a human girl who is forced to live among the faeries as punishment for killing one of their kind. As she learns more about their world, she finds herself drawn to the charismatic High Lord Tamlin, and must navigate a dangerous political landscape to protect her loved ones.


If you're looking for more books that capture the magic and intrigue of "A Court of Thorns and Roses," here are some recommendations.


  1. "Shadow and Bone" by Leigh Bardugo


Leigh Bardugo's "Shadow and Bone" is the first book in the Grishaverse series, which follows the adventures of Alina Starkov, a young girl with the power to summon light. As she trains to become a member of the Grisha, a group of magical elites, she becomes embroiled in a dangerous political plot that could change the course of history. Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses," this book features complex characters, a richly detailed world, and a sweeping romance.


  1. "The Cruel Prince" by Holly Black


"The Cruel Prince" is the first book in Holly Black's "Folk of the Air" series, which follows Jude, a human girl who was raised in the Court of Faerie after her parents were murdered. She becomes embroiled in a deadly power struggle between the faerie court and the human world, and must use her wits and skills to survive. Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses," this book features a strong female protagonist, a dark and dangerous faerie world, and a romance that will keep you on the edge of your seat.


  1. "The Winner's Curse" by Marie Rutkoski


Marie Rutkoski's "The Winner's Curse" is the first book in a trilogy that follows Kestrel, the daughter of a powerful general in a world where the conquerors have enslaved the conquered. When she buys a slave named Arin, she finds herself drawn to him and his cause, even as she struggles to reconcile her feelings with her loyalty to her people. Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses," this book features a richly detailed world, complex characters, and a romance that will leave you breathless.


  1. "Red Queen" by Victoria Aveyard


"Red Queen" is the first book in a series by Victoria Aveyard that takes place in a world where people are divided by the color of their blood. Mare Barrow, a Red, discovers she has the power to control electricity, and becomes embroiled in a deadly game of politics and power as the kingdom edges towards war. Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses," this book features a strong female protagonist, a richly detailed world, and a romance that will keep you guessing until the end.


  1. "The Hunger Games" by Suzanne Collins


Suzanne Collins' "The Hunger Games" is a dystopian novel that takes place in a world where teenagers are forced to fight to the death in an arena for the amusement of the ruling class. Katniss Everdeen, a young girl from a poor district, volunteers to take her sister's place in the games, and becomes a symbol of resistance against the corrupt Capitol. Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses," this book features a strong female protagonist, a dark and dangerous world, and a romance that will keep you rooting for the underdog.


  1. "The Mortal Instruments" by Cassandra Clare


Cassandra Clare's "The Mortal Instruments" is a series of young adult urban fantasy novels that follow Clary Fray, a teenage girl who discovers that she is part of a hidden world of demon hunters. Alongside her newfound friends, she navigates the dangerous world of Shadowhunters and Downworlders to uncover the truth about her past and her place in this new world. Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses," this book features complex characters, intricate world-building, and a romance that will keep you hooked.


  1. "An Ember in the Ashes" by Sabaa Tahir


Sabaa Tahir's "An Ember in the Ashes" takes place in a brutal world inspired by ancient Rome, where the ruling class oppresses the lower classes and a rebellion is brewing. The novel follows Laia, a slave, and Elias, a soldier, as they navigate their way through a deadly game of politics and power. Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses," this book features a strong female protagonist, a dark and dangerous world, and a romance that will leave you breathless.


  1. "Caraval" by Stephanie Garber


"Caraval" is the first book in a trilogy by Stephanie Garber that follows Scarlett, a young girl who has always dreamed of attending Caraval, a magical, once-a-year performance that takes place on an enchanted island. When she finally gets her chance, she discovers that nothing is as it seems, and that the stakes are higher than she ever imagined. Like "A Court of Thorns and Roses," this book features a richly detailed world, complex characters, and a romance that will keep you guessing until the very end.

Our favourite quote from A Court of Thorns and Roses

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a terrifying creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not truly a beast, but one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled her world.

At least, he's not a beast all the time.

As she adapts to her new home, her feelings for the faerie, Tamlin, transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie she's been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But something is not right in the faerie lands. An ancient, wicked shadow is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it, or doom Tamlin-and his world-forever.

From bestselling author Sarah J. Maas comes a seductive, breathtaking book that blends romance, adventure, and faerie lore into an unforgettable read.

Our favourite quote from A Court of Mist and Fury

Feyre has undergone more trials than one human woman can carry in her heart. Though she’s now been granted the powers and lifespan of the High Fae, she is haunted by her time Under the Mountain and the terrible deeds she performed to save the lives of Tamlin and his people.

As her marriage to Tamlin approaches, Feyre’s hollowness and nightmares consume her. She finds herself split into two different people: one who upholds her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court, and one who lives out her life in the Spring Court with Tamlin. While Feyre navigates a dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms. She might just be the key to stopping it, but only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future―and the future of a world in turmoil.

Bestselling author Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her dazzling, sexy, action-packed series to new heights.

Our favourite quote from A Court of Wings and Ruin

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's actions and learn what she can about the invading king threatening to bring her land to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit. One slip could bring doom not only for Feyre, but for everything-and everyone-she holds dear.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre endeavors to take her place amongst the High Fae of the land, balancing her struggle to master her powers-both magical and political-and her love for her court and family. Amidst these struggles, Feyre and Rhysand must decide whom to trust amongst the cunning and lethal High Lords, and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the fate of Feyre's world is at stake as armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy it.

Our favourite quote from A Court of Frost and Starlight

Feyre, Rhysand, and their friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly altered world beyond, recovering from the war that changed everything. But Winter Solstice is finally approaching, and with it, the joy of a hard-earned reprieve.

Yet even the festive atmosphere can’t keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, her concern for those dearest to her deepens. They have more wounds than she anticipated―scars that will have a far-reaching impact on the future of their court.

Bridging the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin with the later books in the series, A Court of Frost and Starlight explores the far-reaching effects of a devastating war and the fierce love between friends.

Our favourite quote from A Court of Silver Flames

Nesta Archeron has always been prickly-proud, swift to anger, and slow to forgive. And ever since being forced into the Cauldron and becoming High Fae against her will, she's struggled to find a place for herself within the strange, deadly world she inhabits. Worse, she can't seem to move past the horrors of the war with Hybern and all she lost in it.

The one person who ignites her temper more than any other is Cassian, the battle-scarred warrior whose position in Rhysand and Feyre's Night Court keeps him constantly in Nesta's orbit. But her temper isn't the only thing Cassian ignites. The fire between them is undeniable, and only burns hotter as they are forced into close quarters with each other.

Meanwhile, the treacherous human queens who returned to the Continent during the last war have forged a dangerous new alliance, threatening the fragile peace that has settled over the realms. And the key to halting them might very well rely on Cassian and Nesta facing their haunting pasts.

Against the sweeping backdrop of a world seared by war and plagued with uncertainty, Nesta and Cassian battle monsters from within and without as they search for acceptance-and healing-in each other's arms.

No items found.
No items found.

If you loved "A Court of Thorns and Roses," these books are sure to capture a similar feeling. Each one features a strong female protagonist, a richly detailed world, and a romance that will keep you hooked from start to finish. Whether you're looking for a sweeping epic or a thrilling adventure, these books are sure to satisfy your cravings for more fantasy and romance.

There is no greater education than one that is self-driven.